Freudenstein Distinguished Lectures

The Department of Mechanical Engineering is pleased to present the Freudenstein Distinguished Lecture Series.

As a celebration of the scholarship and mentorship ideal of Dr. Ferdinand Freudenstein, this series strives to highlight both prominent mechanical or related engineering topics and the scholar chosen to deliver the lecture. 

Each Spring, after review and nomination from ME faculty, a scholar is invited to deliver a lecture that is open to all Columbia students, alumni and select institutions.

Register for the upcoming lecture by Prof. Steven Dubowsky here


Following the Freudenstein Distinguished Lecture and reception in Davis Auditorium, tours of the following laboratories in the Mudd and NW Corner Building will be offered by faculty of the Mechanical Engineering Department:

1:30-2:00pm Professor Kristin Myers - Soft Tissue Lab (245 Mudd)

2:00-2:30pm Professor Gerard Ateshian - Musculoskeletal Biomechanics Lab (134A Mudd)

2:30-3:00pm Professor Sunil Agrawal - Robotics and Rehabilitation Lab and Robotic Systems Engineering Lab (239 Mudd)

3:00-3:30pm Professor Chee Wei Wong - Optical Nanostructures Lab (134G Mudd)

3:30-4:00pm: Professor James Hone – Nanofabrication Lab (706 NW Corner)

Past Lectures

500 W. 120th St., Mudd 220, New York, NY 10027    212-854-2966           
©2012 Columbia University