Undergraduate students in the Department of Mechanical Engineering are advised by the faculty of the Undergraduate Committee, consisting of:

Gerard Ateshian (Committee Chair)
Sunil Agrawal
Qiao Lin
Mike Massimino
Kristin Myers
Arvind Narayanaswamy
Fred Stolfi
Sinisa Vukelic

Each student is assigned a faculty adviser from the committee after declaring their ME major (typically during the Spring of their sophomore year). This advisor will meet with the student regularly to help with many issues, both academic and otherwise.

In addition, Student Affairs Manager Rebecca Chambers advises all undergraduates, especially as relates to course work and scheduling.  All undergrads are invited to contact her, before and/or after having declared the Mechanical Engineering major.  For more information or any questions, please contact Mel Francis at:

We also provide a list of frequently-asked questions

500 W. 120th St., Mudd 220, New York, NY 10027    212-854-2966           
©2012 Columbia University